Ricardo plc directorate changes

Ricardo plc directorate changes
13 November 2013



Ricardo plc announces that the current non-executive Chairman, Michael Harper, will retire from the Board at the end of the Annual General Meeting in November 2014. 

Michael was appointed to the Board as a non-executive director in June 2003 and became Non-Executive Chairman in November 2009.

Terry Morgan CBE will join the Board of Ricardo plc as a non-executive director and Deputy Chairman on 2 January 2014 and it is intended that he will succeed Michael Harper as Chairman with effect from the close of the Annual General Meeting in November 2014.

Terry Morgan CBE is currently the Non-Executive Chairman of Crossrail Limited and the Manufacturing Technology Centre and the National Skills Academy for Railway Engineering.  He is also a Non-Executive Director of the Department of Energy and Climate Change and Boxwood Limited.

Ricardo’s’ senior independent director, David Hall CBE, commented: "On behalf of the Board, I would like to thank Michael for his excellent stewardship over the last four years, during which Ricardo has made considerable strategic and financial progress.  I wish him every success for the future. At the same time I am pleased to welcome Terry to the Board. He has many years of Board-level experience at the top of UK industry and we look forward to his valuable contribution to the business."

Michael Harper commented: “I have thoroughly enjoyed my time as Ricardo Chairman and I am delighted to hand over to such a well-respected and experienced successor as Terry when I retire from the Board next year. His significant business knowledge allied to his proven track record of being Chairman of major companies makes him ideally positioned to help Ricardo on the next stage of its journey.”

Terry Morgan commented: “I am very much looking forward to working with the Board and the executive team in the next stage of the Company’s development and to making a significant contribution to the business, building on the firm foundations put in place by Michael.”

Information Notified Pursuant to Listing Rule 9.6.13

Terry Morgan holds, or has held, the following directorships of publicly quoted companies in the previous five years:

MITIE Group plc

There are no other details to disclose under Listing Rule 9.6.13.


After four years service, David Hall CBE will step down as Chair of the Remuneration Committee from the close of today’s Annual General Meeting.  David will continue in his role as Senior Independent Director.

Following recommendation from the Nomination Committee, Peter Gilchrist CB will succeed as Chair of the Remuneration Committee.

Michael Harper said:  “On behalf of the Board, I would like to thank David for his valuable contribution as Chair of the Remuneration Committee and I look forward to working with Peter in his new role.”

For further information contact:

The Company Secretary, Patricia Ryan   
Tel. 01273 794776

A full version of the Directorate Change statement issued today by Ricardo plc can be downloaded from the link at the top right of this page.